Jay Roach To Receive Cinema Audio Society Filmmaker Award


Written by:

LOS ANGELES, 7 January 2016— Four time Emmy® winner Jay Roach will receive the Cinema Audio Society Filmmaker Award at the 52nd Annual CAS Awards on February 20th, at the historic Millennium-Biltmore Hotel, Los Angeles.

“Jay has invited us to think and laugh as a storyteller and filmmaker,” said CAS president Mark Ulano who had the good fortune to work together with Roach on Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery. “As a director, writer and producer, Jay is a proven triple talent in the entertainment world and we are honored to present him with the CAS Filmmaker Award.”

Born and raised in Albuquerque, New Mexico, Roach graduated with an economics degree from Stanford University in 1980 and later went on to receive his masters degree in film production from the University of Southern California in 1986.

Roach was awarded a total of four Emmy’s for his directing on the made for television movies “Recount” in 2008 and “Game Change” in 2012. He is the director of “Trumbo,” starring Bryan Cranston as Dalton Trumbo, one of Hollywood’s blacklisted screenwriters in the 1940s. The film also stars Elle Fanning, Helen Mirren and Diane Lane. In addition, Roach is known for directing movies such as Meet the Parents, Meet the Fockers, the Austin Powers trilogy and The Campaign.

Along with directing, Roach has also spent time as a producer on a number of moves including 50 First Dates, The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, Borat and Little Fockers. As a producer, his latest film, Sisters, stars Amy Poehler and Tina Fey as two sisters who throw one last house party before their parents sell their childhood home.

Roach will be the 11th CAS Filmmaker Honoree. Past honorees have been: Quentin Tarantino, Gil Cates, Bill Condon, Paul Mazursky, Henry Selick, Taylor Hackford, Rob Marshall, Jonathan Demme, Edward Zwick and Richard Linklater.

Also being honored with the CAS Career Achievement Award is previously announced recipient Doc Kane. Past honorees include: Gene Catamessa, Jack Solomon, John Bonner, Bill Varney, Don Rogers, Walter Murch, Jim Webb, Richard Portman, Willie Burton, Tomlinson Holman, Mike Minkler, Ed Greene, Dennis Sands, Randy Thom, Jeffrey S. Wexler, Scott Millan, Chris Newman, Andy Nelson and David Macmillan.

During the awards ceremony the CAS with also present the CAS Student Recognition Award which to one of five student finalists:

Joseph Elfanbaum Savannah College of Art and Design – Savannah, GA
Lauren Johnson University of Southern California – Los Angeles, CA
Gerrald Vazquez Chapman University – Orange, CA
Matt Yocum Savannah College of Art and Design – Savannah, GA
Joanna Zachariasz Edinburgh Napier University – Scotland, UK

The 52nd CAS Awards dinner will also honor Outstanding Achievements in Sound Mixing in six categories: Motion Pictures, Animated Motion Pictures, Television Movies and Mini- Series, Television Series-One Hour, Television Series-Half Hour, Television-Non-Fiction, Variety or Music Series or Specials. The winners of the CAS Technical Achievement Awards for Production and Post-Production will also be announced at the dinner.

The Cinema Audio Society, a philanthropic, non-profit organization, was formed in 1964 for the purpose of sharing information with Sound Professionals in the Motion Picture and Television Industry.

On the evening of the Awards the Cinema Audio Society website will be updated in real time as the winners are announced. https://www.cinemaaudiosociety.org/

To attend and/or cover these awards, pitch presenters or donate items for the gift bag please contact Dorothea Sargent at Dorothea.Sargent@gmail.com. Or call 818.786.4744 or 310.779.6848

For tribute/congratulatory ads in the program book, please contact Dan Dodd at IngleDodd Publishing Dan@IngleDodd.com or call 310.207.4410 Ext. 236

Last modified: March 30, 2017

Comments are closed.