ADR Mixer, Doc Kane to be Honored with CAS Career Achievement Award

LOS ANGELES— Cinema Audio Society President Mark Ulano, CAS, announced that the organization will honor multiple CAS and Oscar® nominee ADR Mixer Doc Kane, with the Cinema Audio Society’s highest accolade, the CAS Career Achievement Award, to be presented at the 52nd CAS Awards on February 20, 2016 in the Crystal Ballroom of the historic Millennium-Biltmore Hotel, Los Angeles.

“It is a pleasure and a privilege to announce that the CAS Board of Directors have chosen Doc Kane as this year’s Cinema Audio Society Career Achievement honoree,” said Ulano. “Doc is one of the greats, with hundreds of projects to his credit, he is an icon in the world of ADR mixing and motion picture sound–a great artist and person. We are delighted to recognize him for his contributions to the craft and for the scope of his career.”

Doc Kane has been a Sound Mixer at the Walt Disney Studios for over 28 years.

He has been responsible for the Original Dialogue Recordings of many Disney Animated Motion Pictures including: BEAUTY AND THE BEAST, ALADDIN, THE LION KING, WRECK- IT RALPH and FROZEN. Doc has also been responsible for the Original Dialogue Recordings of all Pixar Animation Studios feature films from TOY STORY to next summer’s release of FINDING DORY.

Along with the original dialogue recordings for animation Doc is also an ADR Mixer for feature films and television shows. He has credits on over 350 motion pictures. He has been nominated four times for an Academy Award® for his work on RATATOUILLE, THE INCREDIBLES, ALADDIN and BEAUTY AND THE BEAST. He received a Golden Reel Award for “The Iron Giant” and has been nominated for six CAS Awards.

As the 34th recipient of the Cinema Audio Society’s highest honor, Kane joins an illustrious group of past honorees that includes: Don Rogers, Walter Murch, Les Fresholtz, Tomlinson Holman, Richard Portman, Jim Webb, Charles Wilborn, Gary Rydstrom, Willie Burton, Mike Minkler, Ed Greene, Dennis Sands, Randy Thom, Jeffrey S. Wexler, Scott Millan, Chris Newman, Andy Nelson and David Macmillan.

The Cinema Audio Society, a philanthropic, non-profit organization, was formed in 1964 for the purpose of sharing information with Sound Professionals in the Motion Picture and Television Industry.

Comments are closed.